Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home


Sunset In Barbuda

Sunset In Barbuda

I don’t do a lot of Daily Prompts, but this one was an interesting one, so here goes.  The questions presented are:

If you had the opportunity to live a nomadic life, travelling from place to place, would you do it? Do you need a home base? What makes a place “home” to you?

We have been considering various retirement options as we approach that juncture of our life. When we ponder, we usually come up with some variation of the nomadic lifestyle.  Whether it be renting apartments in various cities around the world and explore, or buy a sailboat and do things in that way, it always ends with that conversation.  We are slowly lurching along a committed path to do some variation, with the sailing usually ending at the top and the apartment concept as a fall back.  We have always been a bit nomadic in our life, living in 7 cities over the years, and we travel well together, usually just the two of us. So the answer to would you do it is a resounding yes.

Inside Passage, Alaska

Inside Passage, Alaska

The idea of living on a boat can be a traumatic thought to some.  The space is small, yes, but, you technically always have a place to call home.  Technically speaking, it is a mobile home base.  A home base to us, is a complete necessity.  When we go places now, we tend to book a B&B or apartment for a week and fan out from there.  This works well in Europe as the transportation systems are usually impeccable and heading out and getting back is usually quite simple.  It also beats lugging a lot of suitcases everywhere you go.  Grabbing a backpack and heading out is the only way to go.  To attach this theory to a sailboat is a simple stretch.  Dock in a marina and head out.  The difference is that you could go further with no need to return every night.  Once again, the answer to needing a home base, an emphatic yes.

A Possible Home

A Possible Home

What makes a place home to us is fairly simple.  It comes down to personal space and stuff.  The touches and familiarity can cushion the fact that home would generally be quite far away.  Stuff is important as well as they tell you that you are in your own space and you always have what you need close at hand.  Think of clothes, bicycles, golf clubs, dishes, nick-knacks.  You see reminders that you are in your own space, that you have everything you need and have a connection to it.

To sum up, there is no place like home, however, with the right touch, you can definitely take home with you.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on July 21, 2013, in Daily Prompt, General, Postaday, Sailing, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. The only way I could consider being nomadic was if I had a boat/caravan/mobile home so I could take my home, and all my homey things, along with me! It’s very important to me that I have my own space with my familiar bits and pieces.

    You sounds like you are have a wonderful time, you’ve got some beautiful photographs!

    Thanks for the pingback 🙂

  2. It is also said that home is where the heart is and if your heart is with another than along as you are with that person you are home. I’m looking forward to reading about your nomadic retirement adventures and I’m hoping you choose the sailboat option!

  3. I think I’m a home girl but home has come to mean family and I want to stay far away from mine! Haha! but not my kids. Thus, my quandary!
    Your sailboat idea scares me to death – only because I would feel too cramped, oh, and I have motion sickness! LOL!
    The two of you seem to need very little except each other’s company. What a great blessing that is.
    No matter what the two of you decide, it will work out well. That much I know. 🙂
    Lisa

  4. Cheers to tying into your recent vacation. Great last paragraph describing home.

    What was your favorite part of the trip?

  5. Hubby & I are in the same state of mind. Our idea of retirement is to buy a motorhome & travel throughout the year to different destinations. We would spend summers in Canada & winters in the south. I could write a travel blog & hubby could drive. This way we would always have the same bed to lay our head down every night, but get to see a lot of different sights!

  6. A boat sounds good – but I’d prefer moored somewhere nice and safe and close to shore. I have my eye on a little farm full of rescue animals and fruit trees.

    • Fair weather sailors is what we’d be. Stay in one place for as long as we want, then look for the right weather and enjoy a sail to the next port, never more than 8 hours. How you doing Rose, been a while since we crossed paths.

  7. hi!! :)) mind checking out my first poem? http://wp.me/p3L3en-e thanks!

I Would Love To Hear From You

