Daily Prompt: Goals


A WordPress weblog with the TwentyTen theme, a...

A WordPress weblog with the TwentyTen theme, as rendered by Epiphany. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

This prompt from WordPress “Daily Prompt: Goals” dropped into my email the other day. This one got me thinking.  When I started this blog, I had an idea to create a personal storehouse to help Lori and I remember our various adventures and share them with our friends in some way.  I held to this for a while and then, miracle of miracles, people started reading about these adventures, people I didn’t know.  I soon realized that WordPress is a very large community, filled with people with the same general idea, that being, I have something to share with the world.  I started following blogs, getting involved in comments and, all the while watching my blog grow.  As it grew, I began to dabble in other areas of my interests, music, sports and opinion.  I eventually came to a crossroads in that I felt I was losing focus on my original thought for this blog.  I even went so far as to create 3 other blogs, splitting my interests in 4.  This did not work, we don’t get paid for this, and 4 blogs was like a full-time job.  I folded up 2 of them and went to a music blog and the original.  I figured out again that it was far too much work and folded up the music blog as well.  Now I am what I am, and feeling pretty good about it.

 

I still have the urge to track back a bit and concentrate on the travel side more, but, I really love my music as well.  No matter what I end up doing, I do know on thing.  I can’t see me quitting.  This is way too much fun.

 

Rock on my WordPress friends, and never miss an opportunity to go somewhere.

 

 

 

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on May 26, 2013, in Blog Notes, General, Postaday, Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yep, the community is what makes it all worthwhile.

I Would Love To Hear From You

