Remembering Von Freeman


von freeman have no fear

von freeman have no fear (Photo credit: cultchas)

 

Tenor jazz saxophone player Von Feeman died on August 11, 2012 at 88.  I love Saxophone and jazz, together a deadly combination.  Von was one of the great innovators and creators of this sound in, what is known as, the Chicago School.  I have attached 2 videos, one is live in Chicago in 1988, the second is Von playing last year at almost 90.  Incredible sound, great player.

 

 

and the second

 

 

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on February 3, 2013, in General, History, Jazz, Live Music, Music, Remembering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That was a real age..can you still see those kinds of guys?

    • Definitely. We were out a few years back at a supper club here and were expecting dueling pianos. Instead we got a guy like this, 70ish guy. Sonny Rhodes was his name. Backed up by a terrific band. Magnificent evening. Just got to watch for them or get lucky.

  2. I have some CD’s from his son, Chico Freeman which are really good.

    • I read about Chico. Thanks for that. I’ll be looking him up for a listen. Been getting into brass jazz lately. Donald Byrd. Trombone shorty and abram Wilson are recent purchases.

I Would Love To Hear From You

