Music Trivia Question for the Day – September 19, 2012


Sun Records

Sun Records (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am going to make a small change to the format.  I am thinking that I can create milk 2 posts a week out of this feature.  Starting on Thursday (tomorrow, Friday in Australia and Thursday thirty in Newfoundland (that’s a Canadian in joke)) I will post the big question.  You will have a couple of days, three if I’m too lazy to post the answer.  I will then post the answer and the winner on Saturday morning.  Is It Possible To See It All, striving to maximize quality content for you the reader.  This leaves me the answer to Monday’s question to tie up the loose end of the old format.

The previous question was:

Q: Sun Records is famous for Sam Phillips discovering and recording Elvis, among others.  What was the first song released by Sun, and by who?

The answer is:

In March of 1952 Sun Records released “Drivin Slow’.  Johnny was a 16-year-old saxophone player and he sounds real good.  It starts a bit slow with some piano, then the sax comes in, and then it takes off.  Pretty good tune.

Drivin’ Slow

We had no winner this time, so Lisa at Gripping Life retains the award, at least until Saturday or Sunday, depending on the hangover.

A Gripping Life – 1 win and retains by default

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on September 19, 2012, in Artists, History, Music, R&B and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I’d like to know the Canadian joke. “Thursday thirty” What the heck? …and it better be funny. Just kidding, you are Canadian after all.

    • What….we’re not funny!!!!! Whenever a something on TV is promoted, they always end with 8 eastern, 7 central and 9:30 in Newfoundland. Their time zone is 30 minutes off everyone else’s time.

  2. Hahaha! That IS actually funny! Now I feel like such an insider. Thanks.

  3. Looking forward to double the trivia,double the confusion!
    Great tune this week.
    And you can’t go wrong with Glen Miller either.

I Would Love To Hear From You

