Music Trivia Question for the Day


 

Cover of "Otis Blue: Sings Soul"

Cover of Otis Blue: Sings Soul

 

My last question from what seems like weeks ago (and was):

 

Q: Who wrote and recorded the first version of “Respect“?

 

We all know the very famous version by Aretha Franklin (shown here is a live version from 1968 in Stockholm, Sweden)

 

 

 

The answer though is, Otis Redding.  He wrote and recorded this in 1965.  You can find it on his album “Otis Blue“.  The song was not released as a single.  When Otis heard Aretha’s version, his comment was “That little girl stole my song”.

 

Here is Otis singing his song.

 

 

 

Now for a new trivia question to ponder until I pop in again with a new one.

 

Q: Everyone knows the George Harrison song “Got My Mind Set On You”.  Who originally recorded it.  For bonus points, who wrote it.

 

 

 

 

 

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Early Rock, General, History, Live Music, Music, R&B and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. A gripping life

    Wasn’t that the Traveling Wilburys or am I totally off? Was Roy Orbison playing with them? Did he write it? If my guesses are laughable it’s because I didn’t google anything. I’ll wait patiently for the answer.

  2. Professor Plum, in the Library, with the Candlestick…

    Okay, so I don’t actually know, but at least I didn’t cheat and google it right?

  3. I just.stood up in front of 100+ people at the mess hall (mining not army) and yelled out the question. A bloke yelled back James Raymond?

  4. William Tircuit

    Otis Redding released the original version of his song Respect in September 1965. It peak at#35 on the pop charts and #4 on the R&B charts. It was on the R&B chart longer than the Dock of the Bay.

I Would Love To Hear From You

