Song Of The Day – Sly and The Family Stone – “If You Want Me To Stay”


The Original Family Stone live, 2006. Jerry Ma...

The Original Family Stone live, 2006. Jerry Martini, Rose Stone, and Cynthia Robinson (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Cleaning out my tags on Shazam and came across this one. Sly and The Family Stone is one great band with a super bass player.

If You Want Me To Stay

Trivia Question of the Day

Who was the first British musician to have a #1 single in the USA.

The last Question answered

Q. Who was the first African-American recording artist?

A: Willie “The Lion” Smith. He played piano on Mamie Smith’s “Crazy Blues” in 1920

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Blues, Funk, Live Music, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’ve always liked Sly & the Family Stone – reminds me of high school. And I always liked Soul Train. Thanks for the memories…

  2. Sly and the Family Stone brings back a lot of memories that I haven’t thought about in a long time. And you have asked a hard question. I’m going to take the wildest stab in the dark: Herman of Hermans Hermits — although I don’t know if he could be considered a muscian. HA! 😀

  3. WHAT a squeal that guy has. I like it!

  4. Wow! 70’s Soul train with Japanese(?)subtitles!

    Great tune.

  1. Pingback: Some Sunday Love: “Stand!” Sly and the Family Stone, 1969 « This Black Sista's Page

I Would Love To Hear From You

