The Week That Was


I don’t know how your week went, but mine was pretty good, with a bit of not so good.  Where to start, where to start.  I know, how about with some of the good stuff.

Lori and I have embarked on some hardline retirement planning.  Yep we are getting up there and it (retirement) is getting to be much more of a focus.  We have some ideas, which, if they work out will make life very interesting.

The second great thing this week was being named the winner of El Guapo’s world-famous Friday Foolishness poll.  I was surprised that no one else picked Bob, I mean it is a natural for a roller-coaster name.

The next great thing was becoming a character in HE Ellis “Hellis in Bloggerland” extravaganza.  Apparently I love my iPod and we Canucks love salt water moose.  Poetic license is forgiven.  The cool thing here is that Lori and I had these cross in front of us on the highway between Saskatoon and Calgary a couple of weekends ago.  Coincidence, I think not!

Not something you want to see at 70 MPH

Two Salt Water Moose near Didsbury, Alberta.

Missed them

And if this wasn’t enough to make a great week, I had my first trivia winner, Lizziecracked, and I was named as a recipient of 2 awards.  Sightsnbytes hit me up with the One Lovely Blog Award, and Lifeinthedrivethru gave me a Sunshine Award.  Both of these blogs are great.  I have followed Sightsnbytes for some time now, and we were both in the above mentioned HE Ellis epic.  Lifeinthedrivethru is a recent discovery for me and i love the humor in this blog.  I will be doing a full acceptance post on both as they are firsts for me.  Thanks.

The only downside, for the second week in a row, our sailing lessons were cancelled.  The reservoir is extremely low as the City of Calgary wants to control the flow of water downstream as the record snow pack in the mountains melts and the massive rain this spring runs off.  Maybe next weekend.

Have a great Fathers Day to all you fathers, I’m going to.  I also hope to have a superb week again next week.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Alberta, Canada, General, Humour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Hi,
    Loved the video’s and photos. 🙂
    Yes I also thought Bob was a great entry, well done on that one.
    It was a shame you missed out on sailing, but still it is always fun working out a retirement plan, a few dreams to fulfill if we are lucky. 😀

  2. Congrats on the awards, mentions in blogs and winning Guapo’s poll contest! You’ve had a busy week.

  3. Bob was a great answer! Sailing in the Caribbean sounds amazing. I envy your life!

  4. I’m with Lily. Your life sounds so fun and adventurous. It’s great that you and Lori are so in love and so together in your thinking.
    “Bob” was a brilliant answer!

  5. Glad to have been part of your seek,
    Hope this week and every week after is just as good, John.
    (God, I’m such a sap.)
    (Where can I get a good Salt Water Moose Burger?)

  6. Just saying hi, and I am glad you are having fun.

  7. “Lori and I have embarked on some hardline retirement planning.”

    Ha ha! I’m picturing green face paint and tree house hotels of Costa Rica…

I Would Love To Hear From You

