Song Of The Day – David Gray – “Sail Away”


No trivia question today for this one.

Sail Away (David Gray song)

Sail Away (David Gray song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

David Gray’s tune “Sail Away” is a metaphor for a lot of things. While the song has more to do with relationships, it also conjures up some beautiful visions of idyllically cruising the seven seas, and does so based on the tune and the use of the title prominently throughout the song. All the above aside, it is a remarkable song that can sweep you away into your thoughts. One of my all time favorites.

David Gray Home

Sail Away

Posted on June 16, 2012, in Adult Alternative, Music, Sailing, Singer Songwriter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I’ve never heard this song but I really like it. It’s relaxing, dreamy and beautifully nostalgic.I think I’ve dated this guy before in several different packages.

    • Hey lilly, how you doing. i see your blog comes with a warning now lol. If you like this song, you should check out his other stuff. One of those artists on the edge of breaking out big time, but never does. Love him.

  2. Love that song. Sort of haunting, and hypnotic…

  3. This song seems like a blend of genres. I’m not good at this but I suspect country, R&B, alternative, perhaps?

  4. Definately one of my favourite David Gray songs – thanks for reminding me!

  5. Hi,
    Very nice song, I did enjoy listening to it, and lovely photos to look at on the video as well. 🙂

  6. Good tune. Saw him when Babylon was big.
    Your right, he never quite broke through…

I Would Love To Hear From You

