Song Of The Day – Niki and the Doves – “Tomorrow”


Trivia Question of the Day

Who was the first singer to refuse a Grammy?

The last Question answered

What was the first album to include a lyric sheet?

Front cover of Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Clu...

Front cover of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, “probably the most famous album cover in popular musical history”Ashplant Smyth 2001, p. 185. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band by The Beatles, included a lyric sheet in 1967.

The Song Of The Day

Introducing a Swedish trio called Niki & The Dove.  “Instinct” is their first full length album release and”Tomorrow” is an interesting cut from the album. One of the commenters on the video says “She’s like the love child of Cyndi Lauper and Kate Bush, raised in the wild by fever ray”.  Kind of sums it up pretty good.

Homepage

Soundcloud

Twitter

Facebook – who cares

Tomorrow

 

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Indie Music, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Her voice reminded me an awful lot of Donna Lewis, Always Forever.
    Didn’t really get the Kate Bush feel from it…

  2. Hi,
    She has a lovely voice, I enjoyed listening to the video. 🙂

  3. Sinead O’Conner… but I don;t know if she refused it or it was taken away…can they do that? take it away? ok thats my guess…no wait.. yea..her. (she;s bipolar did you know that 😉 )
    cool song. too.

    • The song was different enough to tweak my interest. Answer will be up today I hope.

      • cool.. I was supposed to guess or put an answer up right? please dont think that is a truly stupid question… oh jeez..

        • Answers are good. Never thought to put that up. I’ll make a point to note that answers are welcome and desired.

          • hmm so it wasn;t really a stupid question huh? I just assumed..and oops shouldnt do it… I was just so excited I might know the answer.. then I realized…no one else did.. just a word to the wise.. they like prizes..I couldn;t get anyone excited about word of the week…well except Guap and Linda…until I offered a prize.. so ..not that I want one..I mean I answered right away 🙂 but don’t get discouraged. I guess its not even the same thing.. ok.. I will wait and see it I am right.. i can be patient..really.. I can

            • So being proud doesn’t work eh! I’ll come up with a prize then.

              • heh heh – works for me.. I rarely know the answer…well I mean I do but..I am never first…and oh hey…it night not be the answer…anyways..it has been a source of frustration extreme on my blog… i had to get downright mean and keep the same word up for three weeks straight… motivation lol

  4. Interesting. I didn’t know that.

    As for this new question, I’m afraid I can’t answer it, because my mind is polluted with thoughts of Milli Vanilli saying “We be giving this Grammy back now!”

  5. Had to comment after seeing the Sgt. Pepper cover at the top — I was in Cleveland at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in May, and they have the costume John Lennon wore on the Sgt. Pepper cover on display (along with two zillion other cool things). This is the first time I saw the Sgt. Pepper cover since the visit, and I was kind of surprised at the color, because it looked more green than yellow when I saw it.

  6. Cool fact. Will remember.

I Would Love To Hear From You

