Song Of The Day – Remembering Joe Muranyi


Jazz clarinetist Joe Muranyi. : Muranyi speaki...

Jazz clarinetist Joe Muranyi. : Muranyi speaking at Satchmo Summerfest in New Orleans. Lousy photo taken at wrong stop for the light uploaded because no better free licensed photo of subject found. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Song of the Day dedicates this post to Joe Muranyi.  He passed away on April 20 at the age of  84.  Joe was a jazz player, who specialized in the clarinet and was also a vocalist.  His career was highlighted by a stint (1967-71) with the Louis Armstrong All-Stars, where he played clarinet.  He was also a producer, a critic and created liner notes for many albums.  The attached song is from 2008.

Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on May 19, 2012, in General, Jazz, Remembering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Beuatiful piece of music. Critics who also perform are a rare and undervalued species.
    And this guy had a magic touch on that clarinet.

  2. I listened to this earlier today, but didn’t get a chance to comment. I liked it. You may wonder why I put that first sentence, and this one in there, but I wanted to remind you that I like to talk. 😉

I Would Love To Hear From You

