Song Of The Day – California Wives – “Marianne”


Chicago based California Wives have a new single out called Marianne.  The video is a live version which definitely showcases their abilities.  While it is Indie-pop, it is a refreshing blend that I am still looking to put my fingers  on.  I hear lots of influences in this song.  There is a short interview at the start and the song itself builds in momentum as it goes.

Links to Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud and MySpace are here

Marianne

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Indie Music, Music, Rock and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Not bad. I think his voice is a little weak? But on the whole it’s pretty good.

  2. AgrippingLife

    Oh yeah! LOVE IT! He has such a great voice. Very easy to get into.

  3. Eric Murtaugh

    You’re right, this track is a tough one to pin down. But it’s good, nonetheless.

    • Very hard to put it in order. I hear something familiar but different in many parts of the song. Oh well. Good is good. Hope the rest if their stuff works as well

  4. I didn’t like this one as much as yesterday’s.

  5. Hi,
    I’m another one that did not think much of this song, but the one you put here in the comments was great. 😀

  6. So instead of continuing the conversation on Canadian Music blog I’ll chime in on this site.
    I listened to more of their stuff – I think they sound like a (slightly) edgier version of Vampire Weekend. Kind of peppy, but they’re doing some things with fuzziness on their guitars that’s a little sharper than VW.
    Nice sound though.I like ’em.

I Would Love To Hear From You

