Remembering Louisiana Red


Louisiana Red in Düsseldorf, Germany

Image via Wikipedia

 

Blues guitarist Iverson Minter,aka Louisiana Red passed away on February 25, 2012, in Hamburg, Germany, at the age of 79.  Red recorded over 50 albums in his life and has played with people such as Roosevelt Sykes, Eric Clapton, John Lee Hooker and Brownie McGhee.  Active until his death, he recently won a Blues Music Award for best acoustic album for his 2009 release “You Got To Move”.  He was a giant in the blues music genre and will be missed.

I have chosen 2 songs in tribute, the first is a live version of “Let Me Be Your Electrician” at BB Kings and the second is one of his better known songs “Sweet Blood Call“.  In addition, I found this version of Sweet Blood Call, live, by Eric Burdon in 1982.  A must see.

Let Me Be Your Electrician

Sweet Blood Call

Sweet Blood Call – Eric Burdon

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on March 3, 2012, in Blues, General, Live Music, Music, Remembering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good stuff. I don’t listen to the Blues usually, other than Eric Clapton (if that counts?) but I do appreciate it.

  2. Hi,
    I have never heard of him before either, Blue’s didn’t really take off that well here in Australia, but I enjoyed the videos, he was very talented.

  3. Holy Crap. This guy was the goods!
    Great find John! And the glory of the world is lessened…

I Would Love To Hear From You

