Canada’s Best Music – 5 Songs At A Time – Part 7


Been feeling really tired here lately.  Winter is setting in with a vengeance (minus 25 predicted next week), the snow is here and no chinook in sight.  Had to work 5 days this week for the first time in what seems like months. All in all, very depressing and hard to motivate to do any posts other than the really easy stuff, therefore I apologize.  In an effort to cheer myself up, and I am posting another 5 Canadian tunes.  Hope you enjoy.

1. Gino Vanelli

“People Gotta Move”

Gino Vannelli, Festival de Jazz Riviera Maya 2009

A second entry from Montreal singer Gino Vanelli.  Kind of sings about what I need to do this weekend.  Gotta move.  This is a live version (I love live music, it separates talent from pretenders) and has a great vibe.

2. Blue Peter

“Radio Silence”

Some 80’s stylish rock from a pretty good band.  This song channels Bryan Ferry and David Byrne.

3. Bryan Adams

“Somebody”

Somebody (Bryan Adams song)

Another Bryan Adams classic.  A true anthem.

4. Paul Anka

“You’re Having my Baby”

Paul Anka at the 2007 North Sea Jazz Festival

Canadian 70’s crooning.

5. Jayne Sibbery

“Mimi on the Beach”

Jane is an interesting artist.  Quite the songwriter, yet she seems to shun the spotlight.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on January 14, 2012, in Canada, Canada's Best Music, Canadian Music, Classic Rock, Folk, Live Music, Pop, Rock and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good luck fighting the blahs, John. We’ve got em in NYC too.
    Another nice set. Didn’t know Anka was Canadian, haven’t heard him in years.

    • Same. He is in a commercial right now (vw) I think. They are touting the sound system and he’s in the back seat singing jingle bells. Wonder what he thinks of his look in that video now. Trying to be cool on tops of the pops. Made me chuckle.

  2. Seems like someone has changed the blog display. New display for a new year I guess.

I Would Love To Hear From You

