Remembering Fred Milano


Runaround Sue/ Dion

 

Fred Milano, founder of the Belmonts passed away on New Years Day.  The Belmonts may not sound familiar, until you add Dion to the mix.  Yes, Dion and the Belmonts, one of the early superstars of early (really early) rock and roll.  Most of the bands major hits were in late 50’s and early 60’s.  “A Teenager In Love”, “Runaround Sue”, “When You Wish Upon A Star”, we all know the words and can belt them out in the shower.  We can all appreciate and remember Fred through, the immortality of these songs and others.  In memorial, I have attached the classic “Runaround Sue”.

 

Runaround Sue

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Early Rock, Music, Remembering. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Runaround Sue was one of the first songs I learned on guitar.
    Sad sad news.

  2. Neil Young, but Crenshaw is great too. Haven’t heard that name in a while.

    • I thought of Prince when I read Cinnamon Girl 😐
      This just proves that a classic is timeless for a reason. I did not know much about Dion and the Belmonts but from a large array of songs I was listening to in the background, Teenager in Love and Runaround Sue stood out.

  3. Hard to think it’s from the same man. Reminds me just a bit of John Denver.

I Would Love To Hear From You

