My Top Tunes of 2011


Raphael Saadiq, American singer-songwriter.

Raphael Saadiq

This post includes songs that were new to me in 2011, meaning some of them may not be real 2011 releases.  Once again, my blog, my rules.  Now that I have set the ground rules, I will not mince words or platitudes on these bands or songs and will simply post the video with a link to their website.  Please visit them, and remember, support these artists and any others that strike you, be they authors, musicians, sculptors etc.  It is hard to be creative when you are starving.

10. Adele        Rolling In The Deep

Could have picked any of the songs on this album.

9. Matthew Barber    Keep It Alive

A beautiful ballad.

8. Foster The People   Pumped Up Kicks

The lyrics are what sets this song apart from the pack.  Easy to sing along, but what is it that you are singing.

7. Sara Bareilles    King of Anything

A light pop sound, but done, oh so well.

6. Amos Lee    Windows Are Rolled Down

This guy has been blowing me away for years.  Great, great song.

5. Cake    Sick Of You

My solar-powered entry.

4. Frank Turner   If Ever I Stray

British folk songs, sung by ex-punk stars with really cool videos seem to be very popular now.

3. Eliza Doolittle   Pack Up

Another cool retro style British pop song, and I have no idea why I liked it so much.

2.  Raphael Saadiq   Stone Rollin’

Saw him at the House of Blues in New Orleans.  PERFECT!!!  If R&B hadn’t been invented, he would be right now.

1. Trombone Shorty     Do To Me

I was stunned when I first heard this album.  Couldn’t download it fast enough.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Adult Alternative, Blues, Canadian Music, Folk, Jazz, Live Music, Music, Pop, R&B, Rock and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. No disagreements with anything on that list. All great songs.
    Except…
    Not a fan of Pumped Up Kicks. Song doesn’t do anything for me, and while the juxtaposition of the happy peppy tune with the dark lyrics is a good idea, I think the execution isn’t. Bon Jovi Living on a Prayer is a better example.
    I recently read a one page interview with the guy, and he came off really badly, kind of like an arrogant jackass,so maybe that colors my perception of the song…

    Looking forward to the music and travels in next yearsposts, John.
    Hope you and your family have a fantastic New Year, and the rest of the year gets better and better!

    • Yeah, i was torn on that one myself, but, I enjoyed the tune (very catchy), until i heard the lyrics. The juxto was a bit out there, and it did slightly change my opinion. Having said that, I do see some potential with them and liked some of their other stuff, so i decided to go with it. Happy New Year to you and yours as well. Catching a plane in a couple of hours, so I will be quiet on the weekend, to some extent.

  2. It’s good you were not limited by 2011 releases only. It is a hard rule to follow and one I intend to break next time. Adele and Foster — of course super choices. Frank Turner was a nice surprise. Few times a bit too loud for me but overall appealing. Like you said, the music video was well done too.

I Would Love To Hear From You

