Remembering Dan Terry


Trumpet Solo

 

Trumpet player Dan Terry passed on at the age of 87 on the 27th of December.  Another player with an astounding pedigree.  He wrote scores for movies (The Hustler, The Manchurian Candidate), recorded 8 albums between 1952 and 1999, and played with the likes of Count Basie and Sarah Vaughn.  I went looking for some of his music and found the cut below.  If you like big band and trumpets, then this guy was for you.  Love that sound.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Jazz, Music, Remembering. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hustler is a great example. There is nothing out of place in that movie, especially the music.
    It turned me on to a whole sound I didn’t know existed.

    And that’s a great track above.

    • It blew me away, especially around 1:30 when it starts to build to a crescendo of brass. Great stuff. I can visualize this stuff as being the precursor to rock in the mid-fifties. It really rocks.

I Would Love To Hear From You

