An Evening With C. C. Benison


An old friend of mine dropped in to Calgary to do a book signing.  Yes, the only person I know who has entry in Wikipedia was in Calgary promoting his new book.  C. C. Benison is the nom-de-plume for Doug Whiteway, author and former Canada Post Part Time Letter Sorter.  We worked together at Canada Post in Winnipeg in the 70’s putting letter sized letters (remember them) into slots, occasionally the right ones, so the Queen’s mail would arrive at it’s correct destination, eventually.  At least when we weren’t on strike.  Doug has come a long way from these humble beginnings and I am very happy for him as he gets to do what he loves, and is good at.  Also it was great to see him after 30 odd years or so.

By the way, if I have slighted any of my friends reading this by not acknowledging their wikiness, I apologize and you must correct me so that I can make amends.

The book that he was in town for is part of a new series of mystery novels, set in England and is based on the 12 days of Christmas.  The first is titled, appropriately, Twelve Drummers Drumming.  I am now the proud owner of a signed copy and I am enjoying the read.  If you are looking for a Christmas gift, it is available at Amazon and at bookstores throughout Canada and the USA.  I apologize for the shameless plug, but, hey, what are friends for.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Canada, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think shameless plugs are great. No one could call ME self-interested!

  2. Nice to catch up with old friends.
    Surprisingly, I know an author in Canada too – Charles DeLint (though I wouldn’t describe us as friends).
    We had dinner with him, his wife and friends once at his invitation (long story). And I played a blues riff with him onstage too.

    Congratulations to your friend. I’ll check out his book.

I Would Love To Hear From You

