Winnipeg Jets First Home Game in 15 Years


Need I say or write more??  Great video on YouTube of the 15 minutes prior to the game.  I watched the first Winnipeg Jets game in a sports bar in

Logo used on the Jets' jerseys from 1972-73

Image via Wikipedia

Montreal where there was a lot of cheering going on, but for the wrong reasons, but the beer was good and we had good seats.  The place had a lineup and I spotted a couple of seats and asked the hostess if she could get us there as we were Winnipeggers and just had to see this game.  Unfortunately, a 5-1 loss put a small damper on the festivities for me, but the fans there didn’t seem to care very much.  How many teams have a full house at the end of a brutal loss giving them a standing ovation.  It will get better.  For posterity, Nik Antropov’s goal is here as well, it is historic after all.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Hockey, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was at the game against Pittsburgh where the Jets finally won their first game. Incredible atmosphere! Great to have them back!

  2. I envy you. It was different watching it in Montreal. They kind of looked at me funny whenever I cheered, until they figured it out at any rate.

I Would Love To Hear From You

