Things That Ticked Me Off This Week


Libby Davies, New Democratic member of Parliam...

Libby Davies

As a rule, I sit and read, then seethed over some really crazy (to me) stuff.  The ironic, the pompous, the ridiculous, the downright stupid, I ingest it and just basically get angry.  Some of this is not anger worthy to you,  Doesn’t matter, it is foolish to me.  In this vein, I intend to do a weekly post of stuff that just plain pisses me off.  Nothing fancy, an article or 2 and a comment or 2.  You’ll either get pissed at me or you’ll join me at laughing in the face of the foolish.

Lets get started shall we.

The pompous.  Al Gore compares climate change to the Civil Rights fight.*  I am sure Al is well-meaning, but, come on.  the science is loose at best, his personal reputation on the subject is crumbling.  I wouldn’t be surprised if his Oscar gets yanked on him for that horrendous “Inconvenient Truth” bafflegab.  Ridiculous comment by a spent force.

The ridiculous. Christine St-Pierre, Quebec’s Culture Minister has come up with a beautiful plan to control the press* (and bloggers).  She floated a plan to, get this, license journalists.  Needless to say, journalists were somewhat unanimous in condemning this dumbass idea.  The best part, Christine St-Pierre was once a CBC employee. LOL.

The Crazy.  A professor at the University of Manitoba lost his bid to rescind a student’s PhD* awarded despite the student failing the course.  the student claimed a disability, which the university agreed with.  The disability? “EXTREME EXAM ANXIETY”.  I am enrolling at the U of M tomorrow.  I’ll be a surgeon in a couple of years.

The foolish.  My favourite for the NDP leadership. Libby Davies, came out in support of eliminating the 10 year rule* that immigrants are required to wait to be able to claim Old Age Security.  Her thinking is that if you come to Canada and promptly retire, we should pay that person  OAS and GIS, no questions asked.  The bill was promptly pulled by the NDP for obvious optical reasons.

That is all.

About John

I enjoy travel, sports, music and anything else that jumps up at me for the moment, which is why I blog. There will be lots of music and travel posts and a smattering of sports and humour. I enjoy promoting Canada and am unabashedly a proud Canuck.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in CBC, Foolish, Media, Politics, Unbelievable and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I Would Love To Hear From You

